Follow Me on Pinterest ! And A note about packaging and mailing.

Standard

This is my private account but  I don’t have a business account yet.  I do have a Sleepy Poppy Pin Board.

Check it out if you wish.

http://pinterest.com/sleepyfrankie/

Now for my little side note/ rant. Just last night I was packaging up an order using the utmost care and attention to detail. I was really proud of how it looked and was thinking about just how much I enjoyed that part of the process. I have a signature look to my packaging. Each product has its own designated colors, box, or wrapping- hand delivered orders have their own bags etc. I also take care to ensure that the products can endure getting jostled about by USPS/UPS. My process for that was largely learned through trial and error. I think I have it down pretty well. Anyway while packaging the order I packaged up two Easter baskets I made up for our nieces. We have sent them every year since the first one was born and they make the trip from Florida to New Hampshire in fair condition.  Every spring I have trouble finding a box the right size to fit whatever particular basket I buy and stuff. This year I was happy to have  found a box that fit the two baskets perfectly. I knew the cute arrangement of candy and toys probably wouldn’t fully withstand the trip but I put enough of the stability packaging that I use with my Sleepy Poppy shipments and I thought it would make it just fine, that is if it was not turned upside down. So I, with my optimistic sharpie,  went on an arrow drawing spree around the box. I clearly put 5 to 6 thick blue arrow marks pointing in the direction the package should be held and wrote “This side up please” on the top of the box. Again I’m not delusional, I’m aware that this was probably a lot to ask for but you would think the USPS worker at the desk today would have AT LEAST humored me while I was standing there. As if she didn’t even see the marks, she threw the package on the counter behind her on its side. It was ridiculous. I know the packages go through a machine that reads the labels – I even put my labels on the appropriate side so it would make it through that machine right side up- so there was really no need for her to lay throw it that way. It was just rude. Something that I’m not used to with USPS. They are usually very helpful, respectful and accommodating. This was just negligence or spite. Anyway, not that there is anything I can do about it I guess it just got to me. Its always a shame to see something you have put that much care into disregarded.  Obviously that postal worker had no idea of the time and effortI took, nor would she care if she had known, but I suppose its just the idea of it. This got me thinking about shipping issues in general. Any of you out there that have any tips or care to share your postal woes with the group? Feel free to vent here!

I wish packages

Before

After

After…just kidding.

Leave a comment